07 Jun

Robots, architectural models and fusion splicing are only a small taste of what WRCC seniors have accomplished. Wednesday’s Senior Celebration was a chance for them to show it off, while families, teachers and fellow students got a glimpse of all that goes on in the classrooms of the Career Center. Windham Regional Career Center seniors also received over $16,000 in scholarships.

While munching hors d’oeuvres prepared by Culinary students, visitors saw Loulou Terwilliger and Kadin Male use fusion splicing to join fiber optic cables or stopped to watch a few minutes of video produced by the Digital Filmmaking and Editing Class.

Students Fusion Splicing

Ryan Cobb and Michael Franklin stood by their architectural model built in balsa wood, complete with a dream car.

Architecture Students with Model

Kyle Champney, who competed in the VEX Robotics World Championship this year, demonstrated his latest robot, which can pick up two different sized balls while moving. Meanwhile, ping-pong balls flew from Engineering students Jesse and Jason’s ballistic device.

Next, the award ceremony, where WRCC teachers and supervisors sent their best wishes and a resounding Congratulations! A long list of scholarship recipients were granted over $16,000 from a variety of local business and organizations. Recipients were:

Annie Caltrider, Vermont Theatre Company Award
Noah Simeon, Twin State Trucking Scholarship
Theresa Glabach, Richard & Marion Thomas/Warner L. Thomas Student Scholarship and the Brattleboro Savings & Loan Scholarship
Noah Simeon, Brattleboro Kiwanis Club of Brattleboro Scholarship
Bryce Fletcher, Greg Baird Award
Jake Castine, Ernest Flagg Scholarship
Michael Franklin, Brattleboro Area Chamber of Commerce “Skills for Success” Scholarship
Marissa Smith, the Allard Lumber Company Award, the Land Stewards Award and the Anthony Cersosimo Scholarship
Andrew Phillips, National Junior Horticulture Association Appreciation Award
Kellie Schiller, Louise Terwilliger and Jeffrey Kahler: The STEM Award (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math)
Marissa Smith, Vermont Honors Scholarship
Michael Franklin, James Cusick Memorial Award
Marissa Smith, William Dennen Outstanding Student Award
Theresa Glabach, William Dennen Memorial Award

The accolades included more than just seniors: fifteen students, both juniors and seniors, were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society. Congratulations to
Jennifer Carroll, Jacob Castine, Alex Derosia, Alexandra Fellows, Daniel Fooks, Michael Franklin, Daisy Giroux, Jeffrey Kahler, Stevie Roberts, Kayla Savage, Kellie Schiller, Marissa Semenovich, Megan Siggins, Marissa Smith, Kevin Tao.

WRCC’s NHTS Advisor Maribeth Cornell was also recognized for being the longest serving advisor in the country. Way to go, Ms. Cornell!

WRCC NHTS Inductees

And the final word to our 2013 WRCC graduates: CONGRATULATIONS!

Leave a Comment